European Leaders Celebrate Fallen Borders Where Iron Curtain Once Stood


Hungarian Justice Minister Albert Takacs, European Commission... News PhotoArts Culture and Entertainment,Austria,Ceremony,Commissioner,Diplomacy,Europe,European Commission,Ferenc Gyurcsány,Flag,Foreign Minister,Franco Frattini,Geographical Locations,Government Minister,Holding,Hungary,Indoors,Jan Kubis,Jose Manuel Barroso,Jose Socrates,Justice - Concept,National Border,Plate,Politics,President,Prime Minister,Robert Fico,Schengen Agreement,Slovakia,Slovenia,Traditionally Hungarian,Traditionally PortuguesePhotographer Collection: AFP 2007 AFP(From L) Hungarian Justice Minister Albert Takacs, European Commission President Jose Manuel Barroso, Slovenian Minister of Internal Affairs Dragutin Mate, Portugese Prime Minister Jose Socrates, Slovakian Foreign Minister Jan Kubis, Hungarian Prime Minister Ferenc Gyurcsany, Slovakian Interior Minister Robert Kalinak, Slovakian Prime Minister Robert Fico, Austria's Interior Minister Guenter Platter and EU commisioner for Justice and Home Affairs Franco Frattini, hold an European Flag during a ceremony at Hegyeshalom, on the Austro-Hungarian border near Slovakia, 22 December 2007, to welcome nine mainly eastern European countries into the border-free Schengen zone. At midnight on Friday, nine new countries -- the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia -- joined the 15 nations already in the border-free no-passport Schengen zone. AFP PHOTO / DIETER NAGL (Photo credit should read DIETER NAGL/AFP/Getty Images)